STRANDED in your car??

I hate being stuck in the car.  I almost always try to drive the freeway with another person because the HOV lane generally moves faster and I just get impatient waiting in traffic.  But what if you were really stranded in your car?

An internet search yielded hundreds of stories as recent as Jan 2013 where a woman was trapped for 18 hours in her car, and two stories from Jan and Feb 2012 about an elderly woman stranded over 3 days in a wastewater pond in Texas to the amazing survival tale of a Swedish man stuck in his car under hundreds of pounds of snow for an unbelievable two MONTHS.

Most of our cars are almost entirely empty space, so what keeps us from putting together a little “kit” to help sustain us in the unlikely event that we get stranded alive in our car?  For the purposes of this article I will focus on food stuffs only since they will need to be periodically rotated whereas most other survival gear can be stored and essentially forgotten.  I recommend vacuum sealing your supplies to keep them fresh, together and to help ward off the temptation to indulge in a snack while commuting to work.

I also try to minimize the number of containers to three: one for permanent stuff (pocket knife and flashlight), one for long shelf life items (the Isagenix products I will be recommending have two year shelf lives), and short shelf life items (like prescription medications that might have to be rotated every couple of months).  Mark the bag with it’s contents, the date it was packaged and the expiration or rotation date.

Give some thought to how you want to store all these goodies in your car.  Options range from a plastic storage bin to my personal choice, a tactical gear backpack like this: 5-11-tactical-triab-18-backpack Once your choice is made, determine how you will store it in your care and develop a strategy for getting to your cache.

After completing the preliminaries, turn your attention to the short term items.  For this kit I would include a 3-7 day supply of any medications you take daily, an antipyretic (like aspirin, acetaminophen or ibuprofen), an anti-diarrhea medicine (like Imodium) and a stimulant (like NoDoz).  Don’t forget to include these items for your entire family, but never less than a pack for two, just in case you happen to be giving someone a ride.  Load you medications into a vacuum seal bag, seal it, label it and date it; toss it in your storage container.

eplus_200x200 One quick note with respect to the stimulant; a great alternative is the Isagenix e+ Healthy Energy Shot.  I include these in my own pack, but vacuum pack them by themselves so there is no chance they can leak on my medications.

The next part is very simple.  I include one Isagenix IsaLean® Shake, one Ageless Essentials™ with Product B™ Antioxidants plus Telomere Support, and one FiberSnacks!™ per person per day.

isalean-shake-packets Ageless-Essentials-with-Product-B fiber-snacks

I built my kit for two people for two days.  If you go on a trip that covers remote areas, you might want to adapt yours for the conditions you might encounter.  I’m sure you’re ready to start this right away; all of these Isagenix products are available on my web page here: Isagenix

